Bringing The Best of Northern Ireland's Oval Racing
to your browser since 2001



Added: 02 Nov 2015 Category: 2015 Oval Racing
McLaughin’s Thunder Rod DELight
Del McLaughlin won the Thunder Rod Irish title at Aghadowey Oval’s Gala night and final meeting of the season on Friday 30th October.

On a night I was trying to film, photo and run back and present tyres for the 1300 Irish points top two, I somewhat underestimated the crowd that turned up for the gala night and rather than have the choice of parking around the track as I expected to have at 7.10 I ended up parked out in the pits, which wasn’t really an issue until it started raining and my waterproofs were in the car and my camera gear was all getting soaked. It was really just the setting for being one of those nights for me.

On track Del McLaughlin hit the front of the Irish Championship in the early stages and drove off into the distance, it was a surprisingly clean race for such an event and I think just 2 cars that took the start failed to finish. Their revenge race featured a bit more bumperwork but was well down on the numbers of cars that finished.

In the Stock Rods Shane McMillan took the final win just holding off his brother Derek on the line, it wasn’t a bad race.

In the Nationals Ben McKee took the opening heat win, it’s good to see him back on track and he certainly finished the 2015 season on a better note than he started it. Adam Hylands took heat two in wet conditions and Derek Martin won the final, also in the wet, he’d been chased most of the way by Hylands who ended up removed from the race with what sounded like a silencer or exhaust issue of some sort.

Ian Bolton won a heat and final double in the Robins after Jay Jay won heat one.

Share on FacebookTweet This




Other Sites we Contribute to
- 2 Litre Hot Rod -
- Ballymena Raceway -
- DMC Race Promotions -

- National Hot Rod -


Other Links of Interest
- Clive's Gridart -
- GD Embroidery -
- George Fegan Tyres -
- Incarace -
- RW-Graphics -
- -
- Spedeworth -



Please Support FORDS
Fund for ORCi Racing Drivers and Staff



- Home
- Brian Lammey Racing
- 2018 Oval Racing
- 2017 Oval Racing
- 2016 Oval Racing
- 2015 Oval Racing
- 2014 Oval Racing
- 2013 Oval Racing
- 2012 Oval Racing
- 2011 Oval Racing
- Older Oval Racing
- Other Motorsport
- Anything Else

Other sites NIF2 contributes to:
- 2Litre Hot Rod
- Ballymena Raceway
- Ftooz Forum
- National Hot Rod
- NIOvalTV
- Tullyroan Oval


FacebooktwitterSubscribe to RSS feedflickr